Home Page

School Council

A School Council has been established in our School covering all year groups.  Through setting up the School Council, children have opportunities to be actively engaged in discussion and consultation about aspects of school life and develop their sense of responsibility as citizens within a community.


The school council is Valentine Primary School’s Platform for the children’s voices to be heard and listened to.  The School Council Representatives will bring concerns and ideas to meetings which are discussed and actioned upon.  There is a Council representative from each class.  Year 6 representatives have lead roles within the council – Chair, Vice-chair and Secretary.

The children have set ground rules for their meetings and these are followed at all meetings.

  • Always arrive on time
  • Always bring school council folders
  • Always bring a pen/pencil
  • Always wear your School Council Badge
  • Only 1 person to speak at a time and be respectful to others ideas


Each School Council representative has their own class folder which they bring to each meeting. This folder contains all paperwork from the meetings and ideas from each class.

The Council Secretary takes minutes of the meeting and then the Year 6 Council representatives produce and distribute the minutes to each class.


  • Location: Eastwood Community room
  • Meeting Time: 1.15pm


The School Council have their own display board which they help to keep up-to date.


The School Council are now working on three The School Council are now working on three main areas:
 - Litter around the School – Clean up
 - Setting up a lunchtime club to help and listen to children
 - Having respect for school property and play equipment








School Representative – Vanessa Rattley

School Pupil Councilors:
Year 6 – Joshua Smith (Chair), Libby Harris (Vice Chair) & Lennon Goddard (Secretary)

Year 5 – Tilly Lawless, Olivia Marshall, Mitchell Popiolek

Year 4 – Holly Bowers, Adam Mouhout, Joshua Gould, Ploom Harawan

Year 3 – Sonny Lovell, Rhyley Hayes, Harley Mandair

Year 2 – Michael Griffiths, Leland Hooper, Olivia Karpeta, Jake Mitchell

Year 1 – Joshua Jervis, Nathanial Williams, Aiden Stearman, Elliot Stokes